Welcoming OSI’s new board members

The OSI board elections were held earlier this month and the board voted in a new slate of directors starting April 1st, 2010. I would like to welcome our three new board members – Dr. Tony Wasserman of Carnegie Mellon University, Silicon Valley campus, Dr. Fabio Kon of University of São Paulo, Brazil and Mr. Simon Phipps, an Open Source expert and prolific blogger.

I would also like to thank Ms. Nnenna Nwakanma, Mr. Ken Coar and Mr. Rishab Aiyer Ghosh for their valuable participation on the OSI board for the past few years. Ms. Nwakanma and Mr. Coar will continue to support the OSI as board observers.

The new slate of directors for 2010-2011 starting April 1st, 2010 is:

  • Mr. Michael Tiemann, President
  • Ms. Danese Cooper, Treasurer
  • Mr. Harshad Gune
  • Dr. Fabio Kon
  • Dr. Martin Michlmayr
  • Mr. Russ Nelson
  • Mr. Andrew C. Oliver
  • Mr. Simon Phipps
  • Ms. Alolita Sharma, Secretary
  • Dr. Tony Wasserman

This coming year brings new opportunities for the OSI to build upon its mandate “to educate about and advocate for the benefits of open source and to build bridges among different constituencies in the open-source community”.

With our new board, I look forward to helping the OSI achieve its goals in open source education and advocacy as well as building a new membership based governance structure to enable global participation and promote open source.