Welcome New OSI Board Directors: 2016 Election Results

The OSI is pleased to announce the results of our 2016 Board of Directors elections, and congratulate our two new Board Directors elected by our Affiliate Members, Molly de Blanc & Italo Vignoli, as well as Josh Simmons, who was elected by our Individual Members.

We would like to thank all of the candidates who stepped forward to offer their experience and expertise in leading the organization. We’re truly honoured that so many high-quality candidates made the choice to join us in our work. As a member-led organization, the commitment of the open source community is vital for our ongoing work in promoting and protecting open source software, development, and communities.

We would also like to thank our outgoing Board Directors, Bruno Souza, Simon Phipps and Tony Wasserman. Through their dedication and insights the OSI has grown in size and purpose, and matured as an organization.

We would be remiss if we did not also recognize the special role of Simon Phipps who, in addition to serving several terms as Board President, also shepherded the OSI’s transition to a member-led organization, which made these elections possible.

We are far better through their works, and thank them for all they have done.

One Individual Member Seat
(389 eligible voters, 150 votes cast)

  • 29 Joshua Simmons
  • 28 Chris Aniszczyk
  • 28 Tony Sebro
  • 19 Christopher Sean Morrison
  • 17 Matt Lee
  • 13 James Wright
  • 11 Louis Suárez-Potts
  • 5 Nicolae Carabut

Two Affiliate Member Seats
(51 eligible voters, 29 votes cast)

  • 21 Molly de Blanc
  • 15 Italo Vignoli
  • 08 Saptarshi Purkayastha
  • 04 Ken Udas