OSI Board Changes 2014

April annually sees the start of the OSI Board year, with resulting vacancies and the appointment of directors to fill them. This year saw vacancies arising due to the retirement of Board officers — [Karl Fogel](http://www.red-bean.com/kfogel/), who has done a tremendous job as OSI’s Treasurer, and of [Martin Michlmayr](http://www.cyrius.com/), whose work as OSI’s Secretary has been beyond measure. Also leaving due to term limits is Harshad Gune, and Richard Fontana’s seat was open due to the one-year terms for directors representing Individual Members.

The Board turned to OSI’s growing membership to [fill the resulting four vacancies](http://wiki.opensource.org/bin/OSI+Board+of+Directors/2014_election). Three of the vacancies were allocated for filling by people selected by the Individual Members, and the other was assigned to the Affiliate Members (comprising open source related non-profit organisations). Using approval voting, the [Individual members](http://opensource.org/members) selected [Allison Randal](http://wiki.opensource.org/bin/OSI+Board+of+Directors/Allison_Randal_2014) (68% approval), [Richard Fontana](http://wiki.opensource.org/bin/OSI+Board+of+Directors/RichardFontana) (61% approval) and [Leslie Hawthorn](http://wiki.opensource.org/bin/OSI+Board+of+Directors/LeslieHawthorn) (42% approval) — each to serve for one year — and the [Affiliate Members](http://opensource.org/affiliates) selected [Stefano Zacchiroli](http://wiki.opensource.org/bin/OSI+Board+of+Directors/Stefano_Zacchiroli_2014) to serve for three years. Commiserations to the other candidates, and thanks for participating.

The [new OSI Board](http://opensource.org/board) will be meeting soon in Boston to make plans for the coming year. During this meeting we’ll welcome the new Directors, select a President for 2014, meet with the Free Software Foundation and review our strategy for transformation. We are very grateful for your continued support and aim to make OSI ever more valuable both to its members and to the wider open source community.

Simon Phipps
(*OSI President, 2013*)