OSI’s 2021 Board Election is Concluded

Our Individual seat winners are Aeva Black and Catharina Maracke — both new to the OSI Board. We are also welcoming Hong Phuc Dang back and are excited to have Thierry Carrez join us as a new Affiliate Board Member. Thank you to all our members and affiliates for your discussions, your participation and your votes. 


We’d like to thank everyone who participated in this year’s extra long board election, investigation and subsequent re-run process. We especially appreciate everyone who took the time to run for the OSI board and we hope to continue collaborating with you all in the future. Your willingness to serve is one of the things that makes the open source community such an amazing place to work.


Thank you to our Oversight Committee for all their work to interpret the results of the investigation and help us ensure transparency in this process. This was a difficult task and we really appreciate their willingness to support the integrity of our community elections in this way. We’d also like to thank Ben Adidas at Helios for providing a fantastic open source voting solution and helping us when we needed help during our investigation. 


Josh Simmons, OSI’s Board President said, “This was a tough year and we are deeply grateful to everyone who has helped us understand what happened. We look forward to holding slightly more boring elections going forward as well as updating our technical infrastructure to improve our record keeping workflow.”


Board member seats expire at different times so that we can maintain some continuity. Our next election will take place early next year. There will be two Individual seats and one Affiliate seat up next year.